Jordan Spieth Gunning For Third Consecutive Major Championship At British Open

Another big week for the PGA Tour approaches as Thursday, July 16 marks the first round of 144th Open Championship, commonly referred to as the British Open. The Open is the oldest of the four major championships and is the only one outside of the United States, as the Old Course at St. Andrews, Scotland takes center stage.

One thing we know for sure is there will not be a repeat winner. Rory McIlroy took home last year’s major championship, and will be the first player in 61 years not to defend his Claret Jug. The world’s No. 1-ranked golfer ruptured a ligament in his ankle last weekend while playing soccer with some friends. It’s an unfortunate situation, but one the sport of golf can recover from, as its youngest star is building a Hall-of-Fame legacy at the age of just 21-years-old.

Jordan Spieth is going for his third-straight major championship after his dominant Masters performance and his thrilling PGA Championship victory in Washington. According to, Open Championship tickets on the secondary market have an average price of $197.33, with a get-in price of $183, for both Saturday and Sunday’s rounds. Fans attempting to see history in the making can dust off the passport and use for flight deals in addition to hotels on Hipmunk that can be booked with a few clicks.

Only five golfers have won all four major tournaments at any time, although no one has won all four in one calendar year, which Spieth has the chance to do. Tiger Woods held all four titles at one point, but won three of the tournaments in 2000 and was victorious in The Masters in 2001. Spieth is trying to join rarified air this weekend in Scotland.

Prior to McIlroy’s 2014 victory, some of golf’s most familiar names have taken home the Claret Jug. Phil Mickelson, Ernie Els, Louis Oosthuizen, Stewart Cink and Padraig Harrington are a few of the winners over the past seven years.

This year’s field includes Bradley Keegan, Jason Day, Charl Schwartzel, Brooks Koepka, Justin Rose, Martin Kaymer, Henrik Stenson, Jim Furyk, Zach Johnson, Jason Dufner, Mickelson, Billy Horschel, Rickie Fowler, Matt Kuchar, Sergio Garcia and Tom Watson, who is participating in his last British Open.